Doctor-assisted Suicide Legal in California Starting June 9,

The California End of Life Option Act goes into effect on June 9, 2016, making California the fifth state to legalize physician-assisted dying. Under the law, terminally ill adults in the state who have less than 6 months to live can obtain a physician’s prescription for a lethal dose of “aid- in-dying” drugs. Gov. Jerry Brown signed the controversial legislation last October. The law requires that a patient requesting lethal drugs make three formal requests to their attending physician (one written and two oral, 15 days apart). In addition, it requires informed consent and says the drugs must be self-administered. (Wall Street Journal (06/09/16) Gershman, Jacob)